In Praise of Short Haired Beauties — Part 2!

Published May 17, 2015 by Maryanne

winonaWinona Ryder rockin’ the do!

About three years ago, I wrote a blog that many enjoyed called “In Praise of Short Haired Beauties” https://maryannemistretta.wordpress.com/2012/09/24/in-praise-of-short-haired-beauties/

I wrote the blog the day after my husband and I were watching an adorable 1980s flick, “Some Kind of Wonderful” and my most awesome husband commented that Mary Stuart Masterson, who played the short-haired tomboy was cuter than Leah Thompson who played the school heartthrob with the long bouncy hair.

When I wrote that post three years ago, I was still a long-haired girl. Then something happened. Last year I published my first book. At the same time, I became successful as a public speaker. I was taking pictures left and right to document all my book signings … but also to further promote my career in public speaking. When I looked back at most of the long-haired photos, while a lot of them looked super, there were also many that my hair was up in a bun or in a ponytail because I was hot, or thought my hair looked better away from my face. You see, my face is small and it gets lost in a lot of hair. This was always my problem. So I felt prettier with my hair in a ponytail, braids, or up.

I finally took the plunge and cut my hair last November. It was halfway down my back when I got it just above the shoulder. It looked (and felt) so much better that I kept on an eight week schedule for maintenance. When I neglected that eight week schedule and saw how bad my hair looked, in a bun, with half of it hanging down because I didn’t have enough hair spray to keep it up — I said to myself, enough is enough! I not only cut it again, but made an appointment eight weeks from the day, so I can keep it short!

For me, short will always be better. I get more compliments from friends and strangers. Yesterday, for the first time in many years, a stranger (a woman) stopped me on the street to tell me how great I looked.

I posted this picture two days ago, but I like the short hair so much, I’m posting it again!

SAM_7349Loving my short hair!

Short hair just makes everything POP! Your eyes look bigger, your lips look bigger and you look years younger. I’m 51 and would never do Botox. But a shorter hair cut can naturally take years off you! Short hair definitely softens your wrinkles.

My husband loves my short hair too! When I wake up in the morning and it’s all messy, he’ll still be saying, “Look at that great short hair!” Hmmm … maybe next cut I’ll go even shorter?

Here are more of my favorite short haired ladies. ENJOY!

Audrey Hep fawnAudrey Hepburn always had a good face day!

joey-heathertonJoey Heatherton, the sexiest short-haired mama of all!

Isabella rosselliniIsabella Rossellini = perfection!

Angelina shortI miss the short, sassy haircuts Angelina Jolie had back in her rebellious days

farrah-fawcett-medium-length-layered-hairstyle-716x1024Even Farrah Fawcett, known for her luxurious mane, looked adorable in short hair!

And the most exciting thing about short hair is that it grows so fast, so you can look like a different girl almost every day! You can do so many different things with it. Barrettes, scarves, headbands, clips and hats are your best friends.

I’d love to hear from other short-haired ladies! Show me links to your photos below!

What do you think?

