Happy Birthday Susan Cowsill

Published May 20, 2015 by Maryanne

SAM_5938Susan Cowsill (Photo by Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta)

Last summer was probably the best summer of my life. I was celebrating my life as a new author and it just so happened I got to see many bands I never saw before that were on my music bucket list. One such band was The Cowsills. My husband and I trekked out to Bethlehem, Pennsylvania to see their outdoor concert. See my blog here: https://maryannemistretta.wordpress.com/2014/08/31/the-cowsills-levitt-pavillion-bethlehem-pa-aug-31-2014/

After the show we were honored to meet such legendary talents!

Susan started performing with her brothers (and Mom too!) in The Cowsills when she was a little girl in the 1960s. They were the REAL Partridge Family! (That’s where they got the ideas from The Partridge Family — from The Cowsills!)  From day one, you could see what an adorable little ham she was, working the camera. It’s wonderful that Susan is still performing and touring, both solo and with The Cowsills.

Note, they were slightly before my time. I was turned on to this amazing band, thanks to my husband who is five years older than me (the age I’d prefer to be!) and was more in tune to the classic rock generation (while I was the punk rock and new wave generation, now making up for lost time with the classic greatness!)

SAM_5951Me and my husband Dennis in the back

Original Cowsills members up front!

On Susan’s birthday, today, here’s some great stuff I found on You Tube. WHAT A VOICE! (Note that when you hear her singing with the Cowsills her harmonies are so amazing it sounds like TWO girls singing!)

SAM_5957

What do you think?

