Don’t Be Stupid When Speaking to The Press

Published June 2, 2015 by Maryanne

fucking stupid

Public Notice: If you’re ever interviewed by a reporter regarding a sensitive subject, DO NOT tell them they can use your real name in an email — and then after the article is published trash the writer for using your real name. That is just plain STUPID! But, yeah, some people are dumb as fuck.

I’m always super sensitive when I interview people, asking “Are you SURE I can use your real name.” and “Are you SURE this is ON THE RECORD?”

I never seek to hurt anyone intentionally and when someone writes in an email “Use my real name, I’d be honored” I’d take that as an “OKAY” to use their real name and it’s not that big a deal.

THINK BEFORE YOU SPEAK or suck it up and live with it. Don’t act all “bad-ass” in front of the reporter and then when things are in print (and maybe people start questioning you) you go back and shit all over the reporter (who has covered her bases many times over!)

Have some class, it’s not always the Press who is at fault!

7 comments on “Don’t Be Stupid When Speaking to The Press

    • Yeah, this person was so mean to me about a year ago saying he told me NOT to use his real name. I have a photographic memory and I remembered he sent me an email saying I could. He made me so nervous I doubted myself and felt bad.

      BUT TODAY, sure enough, by accident today I found the email that said, “I’d be honored if you used my full name”! I threw it up in his face via email and told him to never contact me again! Finding that email made my night, just as I was closing down for the day. I have the biggest smile on my face — SATISFACTION! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Laughing out loud, so hard my stomach hurts. Thanks William I needed that! I just found out a friend from church died and I was sad all day. Now I’m smiling. You rock! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Wow. That’s the first time someone called me William. It sounds like the first name of an author. Awesome. So sorry to hear about your friend, but glad I could bring a smile to your face.

      • See, I’m giving you “good luck” as a future author! ๐Ÿ™‚ (Thanks for your condolences, this man was a real gem. He was my church buddy, we always sat together. I never realized he was 92!!! I thought he was in his 70s at most. He had all his marbles, so this was shocking to say the least.

  • What do you think?

