Would You Date Someone If They Hated Your Cat?

Published June 16, 2015 by Maryanne

black-smoke-maine-coon-catCute photo swiped from Google search

Why doesn’t Janey like me?!

In “Love Cats” when Beck Stewart meets Janey Peyton, he thinks he found the perfect girl … except …

Below is an excerpt from “Love Cats” (Kindle and paperback available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00YBGVJQS/) Note: Sexual content, 18 and over, please.

Love Cats excerpt

Faults? Of course Janey had them; he knew that from day one. First of all she hated his cat. It was almost like Janey was in competition with Morticia. He’d catch her doing crazy things like staring the cat down. And worse, he even caught her kick the cat once … not very hard, but hard enough to upset an animal lover. Morticia scampered away and hid.

“Don’t you ever do that to my cat again.

“What did I do?”

“You kicked her! That wasn’t cool.” Beck tried to get his cat to come out of hiding by calling her. “Morticia … come here Baby!” Morticia was nowhere in sight. “That’s so messed up, Janey.” He shot her a look and continued searching for Morticia in the apartment.

“I’m sorry … won’t happen again,” Janey mumbled under her breath.

“Morticia is a living being. She’s not a stuffed toy. She has a little heart, she breathes. She’s more than just a pet, Janey. She’s family. I had her ten years, since I was a teenager. Mom gave her to me!”

“I said I was sorry!” Janey yelled. “I don’t need a lecture!”

Beck was so disappointed in her.

Readers: Would you date someone if they hated your cat? Share your thoughts and experiences!

7 comments on “Would You Date Someone If They Hated Your Cat?

    • Yay! Great comment! I married an animal lover 🙂 My husband just adored my kitties. He actually got my Billy Cat to be more sociable 🙂 Billy Cat died in 2013 and we have a little alter dedicated to him. My husband just brought home a beautiful framed picture of Billy Cat 🙂

      • Aww I’m so sorry. Ziggy is as close to my heart as my babies. After my brother passed I stayed in bed for weeks- I was a mess. My Ziggy curled up right next to me and never left me alone during that time. He’s so special to me- it would definitely be a deal breaker if someone hated my Zig! Thankfully my boyfriend and Ziggy have bonded :)) I am so happy you have someone who loves and honors Billy Cat- I am sorry he isn’t there by your side. ❤️

      • Yes, that’s the cat way …. they give such unconditional love. ❤ Thanks for your kind words about Billy. We still have Derick, who is now 19. (And on the back cover of "Love Cats" in my author photo!)

  • What do you think?

