David Cassidy Concert, Manalapan, New Jersey

Published June 21, 2015 by Maryanne

SAM_7815David Cassidy

Hooray that the rain held out! My husband and I ventured out to Manalapan and saw David Cassidy perform (for the second time).

I was a few years too young to go Cassidy Crazy during the Partridge Family years, but I tapped into their greatness in the early 1990s when I was in my late 20s/early 30s. The songs are just perfect and David has a beautiful voice. He shared that he had to get an operation for lymph nodes, but he still sounded like he did as a teenager and delivered a five-star performance.

What I love best about his live performances is that he’s not only a great talent (the first time we saw him, he got behind the drum kit) he’s a heartfelt story teller. If you read his book, “C’mon Get Happy” you can feel like you’re right there with him, listening to his tales. His honesty gives you chills. It’s the same when he’s up on stage. He speaks to his audience as if we’re good friends. And he’s a music fan too! This go-’round we got to hear him speak fondly of his father, his family, John Lennon, Davy Jones and B.B. King and pay tribute in song: B.B. King “B.B. King Blues” and Cole Porter “Night and Day,” Davy Jones “Daydream Believer,” as well as John Lennon “In My Life.” And of course all the Partridge Family hits: “Doesn’t Somebody Want to Be Wanted,” “Cherish,” “I Think I Love You,” “I’ll Meet You Halfway,” and more.

A pleasant surprise was Jax, from American Idol, warmed up the show! She was one of my favorites of 2015 and did her signature tune, “I Wanna Hold Your Hand.” She was absolutely lovely and a positive spirit. After her performance she was signing autographs for the crowd and I even saw her holding a little girl. (I usually like to meet music artists, but due to the extremely humid weather, I wasn’t feeling 100 percent up to par, so I didn’t make an effort to meet her or David Cassidy).

Interesting side note, both Jax and Cassidy are from New Jersey. Before moving to California, David Cassidy lived in West Orange. My husband and I visited his home (his book had the address in it) and took photos a few years back.

SAM_7822David Cassidy’s set list

SAM_7793Barefoot me, in front of the welcome truck — cute Partridge Family tribute!

SAM_7788Beautiful Jax, from American Idol

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is an award-winning journalist and author.  Her books “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” and “Love Cats” are available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/162903908X

6 comments on “David Cassidy Concert, Manalapan, New Jersey

  • Love your reviews of concerts you attend. Would have liked to hear David Cassidy singing Night and Day. Impressed that David would sing a 83 year old song written in 1932.

    Wish I could have seen Jax from American Idol. I was rooting for her or Clark to win American Idol.

  • What do you think?

