Celebrating “I DO” in 50 States!

Published June 27, 2015 by Maryanne

gay marriageVictory!

Hooray! Now everyone has the right to get married in all 50 states! It’s certainly something to be celebrated, as all my friends are doing so on Face Book. It’s thrilling to see all the positivity for something that was long overdue!

I’ve always been a supporter of gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender rights. In fact, on my first Valentine’s Day with my husband, when we were still dating, we went to a rally for gay marriages. We wanted to be the straight couple that showed our support.

Over the years as a reporter, I was always determined to write pro-gay articles. That said, it was a thrill to be on the set of “Queer Eye for the Straight Guy” — one of my favorite shows back in the day.

QueerEye2Me and Kyan Douglas on the set of “Queer Eye for the Straight Guy” (2004)

Now as an author, I’m able to continue to respect in written word via books. In my first fiction book, “Love Cats” I created a gay character, Heather, who falls hard for the main character Janey, who is bisexual. There’s a lesbian love scene between them.

back cover proof CORRECTLove Cats (back and front cover)

My upcoming book “The Gypsy Smiled” is much more tame (rated PG) and I still put in a lesbian character to support and respect the gay/lesbian community.

Everyone deserves the right to live their lives as they feel most comfortable. Even if we don’t understand, the best we can do is to love and be a friend — that is how you learn. And always allow others to be safe around us.

Always remember, we are all human beings.

CONGRATULATIONS TO

ALL MY GAY/LESBIAN FRIENDS AND ACQUAINTANCES!

“Love Cats” can be purchased on Amazon, available in paperback and on Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00YBGVJQS/

What do you think?

