Pat DiNizio at Crossroads, Garwood New Jersey

Published July 2, 2015 by Maryanne

SAM_7922A Monkees Evening with Pat DiNizio

It was a real treat seeing Smithereens legend, Pat DiNizio perform in an intimate setting at the Crossroads in Garwood. This was the third time I saw him perform and every time in addition to Smithereens songs he honors other bands like The Beatles and The Who. This time we got to hear The Monkees. My husband is the true Monkees fan of the family. Shame on me, I only knew the hits, including “Stepping Stone” (which I first knew as a Sex Pistols song). But I’ve come a long way, as over the years with my husband I got to see Mike Nesmith and the Monkees Reunion Tour. Now I’m a Monkees fan too, favoring the work of Nesmith.

DiNizio was accompanied by three guitarists and it was like getting a private basement rehearsal show. One of the guitarists was WNEW DJ Jim Monaghan.

Some of the songs included:

Monkees: “Last Train to Clarksville,” “Daydream Believer,” “Pleasant Valley Sunday,” “Hey, Hey We’re the Monkees” (twice); “Behind Blue Eyes” (The Who); and “Norwegian Wood” (Beatles); “Barbara Ann” (Beach Boys) and Smithereens hits, “Only a Memory” and “Blood and Roses.”

Like many other great artists, what I love about DiNizio’s performances is that he’s a great story teller in between songs. One of New Jersey’s finest!

SAM_7915Before the show with my husband!

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” — available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/162903908X

What do you think?

