The Rezillos, Wonder Bar, Asbury Park New Jersey 7-9-15

Published July 10, 2015 by Maryanne

SAM_7982The Rezillos

Guitarist Jim Brady, Fay Fife and Eugene Reynolds on lead vocals

Amazing!

I was so excited to see this band, because I had seen “The Revillos” version back in 1981 at the old Peppermint Lounge in NYC when I was just 18. The two versions of the bands had the same singers, Eugene Reynolds and Fay Fife, and different musicians. The Revillos was a later version of the band and they were incredible (and back then I was right in the front as I was last night!)

The current line-up is:

Fay Fife: Vocals, Theremin
Eugene Reynolds: Vocals
Jim Brady: Lead guitar, Backing Vocals
Chris Agnew: Bass
Angel Paterson: Drums

And so, last night, I was able to see the Rezillos line-up! A punk-new wave band from Scotland who to me sound slightly like the B-52s on steroids. Such tight, outrageous musicians, each and everyone of them.

Their songs are so much fun and upbeat, which I love! We always need more fun in this world. My favorites included: Flying Saucer Attack, No, Top of the Pops, My Baby Does Good Sculptures, River Deep Mountain High, and as an encore, Somebody’s Gonna Get Their Head Kicked in Tonight.

I was right in the front dancing my little heart out. I haven’t sweat like that at a show in ages! I almost got hit in the head by Jim Brady’s guitar. And after the show I said to him jokingly, “Thanks for not hitting me.” We laughed about how close it was. And he complimented my dancing.

I also met the incredible Fay Fife! After all these years she’s still beautiful and super cool, as you can see her great outfit! I told her she was an “inspiration!”

I didn’t meet Eugene, but he smiled at me in passing after the show. I didn’t meet the bassist either. It was so casual and not such a big crowd, but so many fans were surrounding them to chat, as this isn’t a band that comes to New Jersey very often.

Fay, Jim Brady and the drummer Angel Paterson autographed their set list for me. All such very nice, genuine people.

It was a great audience! I saw a girl there that I recognized from the Anabella Lwin show a few years back. Another girl came up to me and hugged me because she was so happy. As was I! It was such a wonderful, positive evening! My husband enjoyed them too. He wasn’t familiar with their music and let me go right to the front stage while he hung in the back. But every time I turned to meet his eyes, smile and wave, he had a big smile on his face. He loved the band!

Here is their website: http://www.rezillos.rocks/index.html

SAM_7980Drums: Angel Paterson, Fay Fife and Eugene Reynolds, Bass: Chris Agnew

SAM_7987Angel Paterson

SAM_7997

SAM_7995The Wonder Bar

And even though I took photos with the band, I’m not sharing them because I sweat so much from dancing and jumping around I look like a drowned rat! Ha-ha-ha! My husband said I still have the energy of a teenager! Well, with the Rezillos, it ain’t hard!

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/162903908X

3 comments on “The Rezillos, Wonder Bar, Asbury Park New Jersey 7-9-15

  • Fab ReVieW!!.thAnXx. they plAy here tonight or ?? tomorroW night!.. but its up in the aiR if i cAn swing it!◉✄♥☞♬✏✱❋❣

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^

    • Shaolin — GO!!!!!!!!!!!!! They were off the hook! Dennis didn’t even know their music and he had a huge smile on his face the whole time. They don’t come around too often, so take the opportunity 🙂

  • How lucky for you to have had this show. I saw The Rezillos in 2002 in D.C. at the Black Cat but have not heard of their US tours in time in subsequent years to attend. They are utterly amazing. How I’d love to see them again. They did new material back then which took until last year and their “Zero” album to eventually see a release. Talk about anticipation!

  • What do you think?

