The Church/The Psychedelic Furs, State Theatre, New Brunswick, NJ

Published August 21, 2015 by Maryanne

SAM_8303Richard Butler, Psychedelic Furs

I was ecstatic when my husband said he got us second row seats for The Church and The Psychedelic Furs.

I only had one album of The Church and was extremely impressed with their dark, surreal show. The sound was dead on. They had a psychedelic backdrop video show behind them. I was super psyched to hear my favorite song by them, “Reptile.”  Now, to go out and buy more CDs!

For more info, visit: http://thechurchband.net/

I’ve seen The Psychedelic Furs at least four times before and this was probably their best show ever. They were so on the money. Fans were screaming out names of songs, but they could have done anything they wanted, for I have most of their albums and love every song. I guess the mind-blowing moment of the evening, for me, was “Sister Europe,”especially when the sax came in.

Others favorites included: “Heartbeat,” “Heartbreak Beat,” “The Ghost in You,” “Love My Way,” “Heaven,” and “Pretty in Pink.”

It was a most gorgeous energy as every song caressed your soul.

Richard Butler was incredibly jubilant, smiling throughout most of the show. I’ve never seen him so happy, jumping around, dancing and posing for pictures.

The current Psychedelic Furs touring line-up: Richard Butler (vocals), Tim Butler (bass), Rich Good (guitar), Mars Williams (saxophone), Amanda Kramer (keyboards), and Paul Garisto (drums).

For more info, visit: http://www.thepsychedelicfurs.com/

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/162903908X

What do you think?

