I Dreamed My Cat Was Alive

Published September 6, 2015 by Maryanne

Billy in the SkyBilly Cat, in Heaven on the Rainbow Bridge

September 3, 2013, my beloved Billy Cat passed away. He was 19. This is the blog I wrote on that horrible day: https://maryannemistretta.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/goodnight-beautiful-angel/

For the past two years, I was always sad during the reunion date of his death. Billy was not just a cat, he was family, as you can read in the previous blog.

Last night I believe I was on the Rainbow Bridge, as our baby came back to us in a dream.

It was so realistic, Billy was alive again. The dream felt like a dream. I thought he was a ghost visiting us on his death date. Then it was several days — maybe 20? I said to my husband, “Billy is still here.”

He said, “Don’t question it, just enjoy Billy.”

I said, “There has to be an answer for this.”

Then my husband said that Billy never died. When he was sick he put him under a tree. He heard about neighbors talking about “a cat.” Billy came home to us. He was better and alive.

When I woke up in the middle of the night, my heart was racing. I really thought Billy was alive! Then I realized, my husband never put Billy “under a tree.” We were together on that sad day we brought him to the vet and had no choice but to put him to sleep. Our baby had bone cancer and was down to four pounds. It was the humane thing to do.

I woke my husband up and told him about the dream. We hugged.

I went back to sleep and dreamed:

I saw a cat in the back seat of someone’s car. I opened the car door and there was a key. I turned it so the car could be warm for the cat. It was dark and again — the cat looked like Billy Cat.

Neighbors came out and I told them I wasn’t stealing the car, I just wanted the cat to be warm. A woman picked up the cat and his dark tiger stripes turned orange. It wasn’t Billy.

I woke up again and was so happy that Billy was on my mind so much that I got to dream about him. It was like having my little guy back, even if it wasn’t real, the surreal Billy was extremely rewarding to have.

Damn, I miss that little guy! ❤

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “Love Cats” available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle editions: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1681020513

4 comments on “I Dreamed My Cat Was Alive

  • tHis is soOoOO beaUtIfUl.,.. i FeLt TeaRs komE To My eyEs,,, & i aLso fElT it wAs a MessaGE!!!xxxxxxxxxxxx ♥.•*¨`*•♫!!♥☪پ– MoRe tHan onE mEssaGe… xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxoxx

    On Sun, Sep 6, 2015 at 12:16 PM, Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta wrote:

    > Maryanne posted: “Billy Cat, in Heaven on the Rainbow Bridge September 3, > 2013, my beloved Billy Cat passed away. He was 19. This is the blog I wrote > on that horrible day: > https://maryannemistretta.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/goodnight-beautiful-angel/ > For the past two year”

  • Maryanne, I really do believe Billy came to you in a dream. He wanted you to know he was ok and for you not to grieve. I honestly believe we will be reunited one day with our beloved fur-babies. Really who is to say a part of you was not on that rainbow bridge? I know you felt pain again as you woke and realized you were dreaming. It’s a known fact that many family members that have passed on, sometimes come to a loved one in a dream. Sometimes as a warning, sometimes to ease their grief and sometimes just to let the person know they are doing well. I believe you saw your precious Billy. Next time, he comes to you in a dream, try to control the dream, talk to him. Remember love has no barriers. He is in your heart and I am sure you are in his.

  • What do you think?

