Chuck Negron and Tommy James at PNC Bank Art Center

Published September 16, 2015 by Maryanne

SAM_8555Chuck Negron (photo by Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta)

Another exciting night last night. My husband and I headed down to PNC Bank Arts Center to see Chuck Negron and Tommy James. My friend Lorraine saved us seats so we had fifth row, left.

Chuck Negron was up first. Neither of us saw him before. My husband saw Three Dog Night without Chuck when we first started dating and he called me and let me hear over the phone. And now, there we were, together, hearing so many legendary songs that we grew up with from the lead singer. My moment was “One is the Loneliest Number.” Other hits included: “Joy to the World,” and “Eli’s Coming.” Chuck’s voice was great, he looked fantastic and was a real hoot, keeping the audience in stitches with jokes. A real class act.

Chuck Negron’s site: http://www.chucknegron.com/

Next up was Tommy James. We saw him so many times before. I actually was lucky to interview him for The Verona Cedar Grove Times, as Tommy James is a New Jersey resident.

His show was incredible, as always. Early on, Tommy does my favorite, “Crystal Blue Persuasion,” which brings tears to my eyes. He also does an acoustic version of “I Think We’re Alone Now,” and later an electric version. Other hits included “Crimson and Clover,” “Mony Mony,” “Hanky Panky,” and as a finale, “Sweet Cherry Wine,” with a nod to our Lord, “Jesus is Coming!”

During “Mony Money,” Tommy James walked into the audience of 17,000 and shook hands with fans.

Tommy James website: https://www.tommyjames.com/

Cousin Brucie was the emcee for the show; another sentimental treat as I grew up listening to his show. He’s a great host and makes the show even more exciting.

After the show, my husband and I saw Carmine Appice (http://www.carmineappice.net/)  in the audience. We approached him and he was cool to let us take a photo. That was awesome because I had albums he played on when I was 13!

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/162903908X and “Love Cats” which is available in paperback and on Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1681020513

What do you think?

