The Anderson Ponty Band

Published October 30, 2015 by Maryanne

Last night my husband and I had the honor of seeing the Anderson Ponty Band at the Count Basie Theatre, Red Bank. It was a magical musical journey featuring legendary Jean Luc Ponty (http://www.ponty.com/) on violin and Jon Anderson (http://www.jonanderson.com/news.html) of Yes on vocals.

It was the second date of their short US Tour promoting their album “Better Late Than Never.” And it sure was better late than never, for me, to see this incredible act, which is also composed of, according to Ponty’s website: on keyboards, Wally Minko; bass, Baron Browne; and drums, Rayford Griffin. and Jamie Glaser on guitar. They were all just so incredible, caressing the audience with elegant sound.

I came in, unfamiliar with their work, only knowing Yes tunes. As a very young girl, 13, I was turned on to Yes thanks to an older boyfriend. The song I latched onto was the enchanting “Wondrous Stories.” So, when I heard the first notes live, I nearly screamed. Tears fell down my face as Jon Anderson heavenly sang in his unique elf-like voice. Other Yes songs included “You and I” and “Roundabout.”

Aside from the Yes tunes, not knowing anything else, I loved it. It’s great to go to hear the unknown, it’s one immaculate surprise after another. A beautiful progressive rock show. And truly a religious experience.

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist.”

2 comments on “The Anderson Ponty Band

  • I also was there last night. What an amazing show. The two of them worked so well together. The song choice was very good. I loved the reggae version of Time and a Word which led into the sing along of One Love. The dedication of And You and I to Chris Squire was cool. The last song of the night Soon was great.

  • What do you think?

