Live in the Moment!

Published November 18, 2015 by Maryanne

always-live-in-the-moment-source

Last night I had a meeting with a client who is writing a very cool book and I am helping him edit it. We had the greatest conversation about spirituality and living in the moment. We agreed that some people take themselves way too seriously and are too dogmatic about their beliefs to see the beauty of what is in front of them.

I once knew a girl who was very dogmatic about her version of “spirituality.” She was into yoga, vegan-ism, creativity, Buddhism, the universe and so on. BUT do not mention Jesus Christ in her presence. She did not want to hear it. She thought it was so funny to share the story about a guy she was dating answering the door naked when a Jehovah Witness came to the door. And that they never came again.

What a shame, she (and her date) missed the point.

True spirituality is being in the moment. Just because something isn’t your belief, it doesn’t mean there isn’t a message there. A subtle point I make in my upcoming book, “The Gypsy Smiled” — that you can learn something from anyone no matter what their walk in life. The lead character Lucy snubs a younger guy who is interested in her because of his youth; but he’s actually wise beyond his years. Then goes to a new age spa, but it’s not the retreat that evolves her, it’s her ex-boyfriend who is there and teaches her a valuable life lesson. (You can vote to help me get a book contract for “The Gypsy Smiled” by going here: http://soopllc.com/blog/book-ideas/gypsy-smiled-maryanne-christiano-mistretta/).

This morning two Jehovah Witnesses came to my door. Unlike my former friend, I love when they come to my door even though that is not my religion. I love getting the Watch Tower magazines and learning more about Jesus Christ. Today’s message was about Jesus bringing Peace on Earth. It was a powerful thing to hear, but I do believe it will happen. I hugged both Witnesses and thanked them. I went off to run my morning errands feeling elated. Had I answered the door naked, discouraging the witnesses, I wouldn’t have heard such a powerful message; the message of having faith in Jesus Christ.

Those Jehovah Witnesses will never know just how happy they made me today. But I have to give myself credit, too, for opening the door and opening my heart to a message.

I shared this story with my client and he said, “You were in the moment!”

The client is a vegan, but he’ll eat waffles with his little girl at a pancake house. That is a great father! When you can bend your own rules so others around you can be happy, it’s a beautiful thing. Be in the moment!

We can’t advance in our spirituality if we take ourselves too seriously. Check out the following video that my friend Marie sent to me this morning, it puts it all into perspective:

What do you think?

