Arugula, Mushroom & Walnut Salad

Published January 6, 2016 by Maryanne

SAM_9463Arugula, Mushroom & Walnut Salad

Not too long ago I treated myself to the Lydia Lunch cookbook, “The Need to Feed.”

In Lydia Lunch fashion, she offers deep and sometimes dark commentary for each chapter. Her side notes that accompany the recipes are witty and sassy. This book has something for everyone: vegan, vegetarian, paleo, decadent, smoothies, and juices.

I just made the Arugula, Mushroom & Walnut Salad dish for me and my husband. It was fabulous! My husband who often doesn’t finish his salads, cleaned his plate!

Here is Lydia’s recipe, along with my slight alters. ENJOY!

Serves 2

Large bunch of fresh argular

Handful of cremini mushrooms

1/2 cup walnut pieces

Salad Dressing

1 glove of garlic, crushed and minced

1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1 tablespoon lemon juice, or to taste (Note: I used half a lemon!)

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar (Note: A little more for me here, too!)

1/2 teaspoon of honey or to taste (Note: I used buckwheat honey, which was incredible!)

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil (Note: cold-pressed!)

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Crumbled goat cheese or shaved Parmesan cheese (optional), for serving (Note: I went with finely chopped raw milk Parmesan)

NOTE: I simplified the directions because her original words were hilarious, and I don’t want to reprint without permission.

Wash the arugula and pat it dry. Clean and slice the mushrooms. Toast the walnut pieces lightly in dry pan over low heat until fragrant. Remove from the pan to a plate to cool. Combine the arugula, mushrooms, and walnuts in a large bowl.

Whisk the garlic, mustard, lemon juice, vinegar, honey, and oil.

Drizzle over salad. Add salt, pepper, and optional cheese. Toss.

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is a public speaker and offers lectures on healthy living to libraries and senior groups. Contact at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com for rates and availability.

What do you think?

