Happy New Year! Wanna See Pictures of My Cat?

Published January 6, 2016 by Maryanne

Derick and SparkyDerick’s World!

 Today I had the opportunity to use my New Year’s resolution.

I always make them and I always stick to them. It’s a great way to become a better person. (And yes, I work on that throughout the year, not just in the New Year, but as I’ve said before to Valentine’s haters and holiday haters, it’s the time of year when the energy of mankind is very potent, so GO FOR IT and reap the good karma!)

Anyway, one of the biggest things that annoys me, in life, is when people bang into you and don’t say excuse me. I’m a petite woman, a small target, so why am I so easy to hit? Anyway, I said for 2016 I will no longer get mad when that happens. Instead I’ll goof on the person. Sure enough a woman banged her cart into me at Whole Foods this morning.

I turned around and with a big, enthusiastic smile, I said, “Do you want to see pictures of my cat?”

She looked dumbstruck.

I repeated, cheerfully, “Do you want to see pictures of my cat? You banged your cart into me, so I thought maybe you’d like to get to know me better?”

Then she started laughing really hard and said, “Oh my God, I’m so sorry.”

The cashier was laughing too and so was the bagger. We all had a great laugh because of my awesome New Year’s resolution!

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “Love Cats” available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle versions: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1681020513

What do you think?

