Frank Secich at The Record Collector, Bordentown, New Jersey

Published January 9, 2016 by Maryanne

SAM_9476Frank Secich (photo by Maryanne Mistretta)

Today was a dream come true meeting musician/songwriter/producer/author, Frank Secich. I’ve been a fan of his music since I was a teenager. He played (and wrote songs) on one of my favorite teenage albums, “Disconnected” by Stiv Bators. Frank also played in Club Wow, Blue Ash, The Deadbeat Poets, The Infidels and more.

A few years ago we met on FaceBook and Frank was kind enough to endorse my first book “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” (available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/162903908X).

And, I became a fan of his newest band, The Deadbeat Poets.

I also interviewed Frank for this blog: https://maryannemistretta.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/interview-with-frank-secich-musiciansongwriterproducer/

So you can just imagine how super excited to learn that Frank Secich was going to be at The Record Collector in Bordentown promoting his new book “Circumstantial Evidence” (http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/circumstantial-evidence-frank-secich/1122604553)

As soon as I walked in the store, I was greeted with a great big, “Maryanne!” by Frank! He’s so cool and down-to-earth. I also met his son, Jake, who was very kind to take our photograph, and other great people. The vibe was awesome as fans and friends listened to Frank share stories about Stiv Bators and a cool story about Michael Monroe (of Hanoi Rocks who recorded Frank’s song “A Million Miles Away” – please do not confuse with The Plimsouls song, both songs are fab, but I do like Frank’s better *wink*). Frank also spoke of the stories behind his songs. These humorous adventures are included in the book “Circumstantial Evidence.”

Frank played, acoustic, “A Million Miles Away,” “It’s Cold Outside,” “Circumstantial Evidence” and some songs by Deadbeat Poets.

As I’m writing this blog, I have the “Circumstantial Evidence” book in my hands, waiting to be read!

SAM_9471Frank Secich and Maryanne Mistretta (Photo by Jake Secich)

6 comments on “Frank Secich at The Record Collector, Bordentown, New Jersey

  • What a great pleasure it was to finally meet you in person, Maryanne! Meeting both you and Rich Orth for the first time was a big thrill for me after being big fans of both of you for years! Hopefully.I’ll be back in NJ again soon and we’ll all get together again and hang out!

    • Oh wow, how cool that you are a fan of my work too! Interesting you say that because as I was reading your book it reminded me of mine. In both our books we speak as if we’re talking directly to our friends, right?

      Anyway, I’m almost done with yours. Reading “Circumstantial Evidence” made me feel like a teenager again! It brought me back to the times, hanging out, when it was so easy to make friends bonding over good music. And I keep forgetting to ask you, after all these years, in the song “A Million Miles Away” — what is the meaning of the lyric “she moved to the summer every Halloween”? I always thought that was the coolest line ever!

      And, yes, I’d love to all hang out again next time you’re in New Jersey! CHEERS! 🙂

  • What do you think?

