And on the 8th Day God Created Friendships!

Published August 15, 2016 by Maryanne

 

SAM_0898Joan, Me, Darlene 

Friends are such a blessing and I never take any of mine for granted.

August is my birthday month and this lunch date was the kick-off of many celebrations to come — including two other lunch dates with friends, celebrations with my husband, and celebrations with my husband’s family.

Over the weekend it was an honor to spend time with two of my closest friends Joan and Darlene. It was extra special because it was the first time they got to meet each other!

I met Darlene shortly after I started dating my husband, as she’s the long-term girlfriend of my husband’s cousin Tommy. Darlene and I hit it off immediately. Like two peas in a pod, we’re both into music, health, and animals. She’s like a sister to me. ❤

I’ve known Joan since high school. We can’t remember exactly how we met, but it seems like we’ve always been in each others lives. She made my teenage years incredible. We went to so many concerts and dance clubs together. One of my greatest “Joan” memories is dancing with her to “Hang On To Yourself” by David Bowie at the now defunct Aldo’s Hideaway, in Lyndhurst, New Jersey. That is our song. ❤

I love both of my ladies very much! ❤

This weekend Joan surprised me with a beautiful poem she wrote about our friendship. She gave me the A-OK to type it up into this blog.

ENJOY!

Dear Maryanne,

A friendship’s memories are like the waves of the ocean coming in and washing over you.

The thoughts of innocent times, dancing and listening to music from so long ago seem like a dream.

Yearning to spend every moment with each other was the most important thing.

Not knowing what life had in store allowed us to be free, excited and limitless.

If I could go back in time and be that 17-year-old girl again, I would want it to be with you.

Happy Blessed Birthday my Friend

Love, Joan

 

 

 

 

One comment on “And on the 8th Day God Created Friendships!

  • soooOoO beeaUtifuL!´`’*♫✫♥°★¸¸.✶*¨`*.¸¸.✫*¨*❤❣.

    On Mon, Aug 15, 2016 at 9:24 AM, Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta wrote:

    > Maryanne posted: ” Joan, Me, Darlene Friends are such a blessing and I > never take any of mine for granted. August is my birthday month and this > lunch date was the kick-off of many celebrations to come — including two > other lunch dates with friends, celebrations wi” >

  • What do you think?

