Natural Relief for Peripheral Neuropathy

Published September 9, 2016 by Maryanne

sam_1086Healthy at 53

DISCLAIMER: Do not try any of this without first consulting your doctor.

Much earlier this summer, about a month before my 53rd birthday my feet started feeling very cold. I’d say to my husband, “Feel my feet, they are so cold.”

He said they weren’t cold, that they felt normal. But to me they felt cold.

This went on for a few days. I went to my acupuncturist and told him my feet were cold. He started treating me for circulation, which included some Chinese herbs. Then he went on vacation for two weeks. During that time, my feet felt less cold, but very tender. When I walked it felt like I had cotton stuck between my toes. Whether I was barefoot or in flats I felt this. (I had temporarily given up on heels). Then the pain started going up my legs, like a sciatica pain, and finally in between my fingers. When I exercised, I couldn’t feel my feet. And bike riding made the pain worse.

I got scared and went to a medical doctor — something that is so out of the ordinary for me. I mean, this all came on so fast, without warning. I was terrified. I was taking such good care of myself, how could this happen?

The only medical doctor I trusted was the one my husband went to. He was honest and wasn’t what one would call a “pill pusher.” I had gone to him several years ago when I had a very mild case of chicken pox. In fact, so mild, the doctor said it was the most mild case he had ever seen. I attribute that to my very healthy lifestyle, even though back then I wasn’t nearly as health conscious as I am today. I eat nothing artificial. I do not drink alcoholic beverages. I exercise daily. And I avoid breads and only consume brown rice on occasion.

The doctor felt my feet and said my circulation was good and that I had “Peripheral Neuropathy.” And even though I am in my 50s, the doctor said he didn’t want to put me on medication because I was “too young.”

For that, I am forever grateful.

Instead he gave me a cream to use. I also asked if I could use something from a health food store. He said, “Yes.” And that’s the kind of medical doctor you want.

That night I tried the cream on my feet. The pain went away instantly, but since it had chemicals in it and my body isn’t used to chemicals, I had a reaction. My heart was racing.

I did some internet research and then went to the health food store the next day. I purchased a product that was specifically for peripheral neuropathy pain. It took the edge off, but I still wasn’t comfortable.

I struggled with the pain for a few weeks because I was insanely busy with my career and social life. I walked around in a fog for weeks. My quality of life was at an all-time low. I’d go to bed sad and wake up sad, as I was in so much pain. I wondered if my nutritionist/chiropractor could help? I held off making an appointment because during the summer he was off on Saturdays and my weeks were so busy, it was nearly impossible to fit him in. But then I finally was able to squeeze him in.

After one adjustment, the pain was 75 percent gone. He also gave me some natural supplements to relieve joint stiffness, tissue repair, nervous system function, etc.

Then my acupuncturist was back from vacation and after one session, the pain subsided even more. By now I was 80 percent pain-free.

And I did more research.

I found that there were four key items to relieve the pain of peripheral neuropathy. In no particular order: 1. Brewer’s Yeast; 2. Hemp seed oil; 3. Cod liver oil; 4. Magnesium.

The next day I went back to the health food store to get those items. And with those items I created a recipe that helped relieve my pain within two hours!

Recipe for Pain Relief of Peripheral Neuropathy

Blend:
1 cup coconut water 
1 cup frozen organic blueberries
1 heaping tablespoon Brewer’s Yeast 
1 tablespoon Hemp seed oil
1 tablespoon of lemon flavored cod liver oil (you can’t even taste it!)
1 packet of Calm’s Magnesium (raspberry and lemon flavor)

I started doing this over a week ago and most days my pain is 100 percent GONE! Other days I will have minimal pain in the morning, but it goes away as soon as I have my drink.

And I can wear high heels again!

I make this drink every morning. Sometimes for variety, I’ll try something other than coconut water, like maple water, or just plain water.

Since I was doing so much for my health, I’m not sure if it was the drink that helped me so much, or a combination of natural herbs and supplements, acupuncture adjustments and chiropractic adjustments. Or perhaps a lot of prayer and creative visualization.

All I know is that I feel so blessed to have found the right natural care practitioners, the right health food store that had product, and even the right medical doctor who did not steer me wrong.

After suffering from mid-July to nearly the end of August, I am back to my healthy, happy self again. I was scared, but I was persistent. I share my story because I would love to be able to help someone else.

DISCLAIMER: Consult your doctor or health care practitioner before trying the recipe. 

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is an author and public speaker. She is currently writing her first health book. To hire her for a public speaking engagement, contact her at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com for pricing and availability. 

What do you think?

