Herman’s Hermits/Gary Lewis and The Playboys Show 9-9-2016

Published September 10, 2016 by Maryanne

peter-noone

Peter Noone autographed album to me and my husband

A super fabulous show was put on last night at PNC Bank Arts Center in Holmdel, New Jersey. (Note, while I love the shows that are put on at this venue, I am truly disgusted with PNC Bank Arts Center. The workers there behave like ex-cons pushing their weight around and yelling at people, telling them not to dance. Hello!!!!! This was an “oldies” show and most of the people there were seniors; this was not a Marilyn Manson concert — no need for the over-obsessive “security”!! Imagine such behavior from so-called professionals. And at the end of the show, I was innocently waiting at a table in the concession area while my husband was in the bathroom. All the lights were still on, which meant that it was still OPEN. One ugly bitch who worked there told me that I had to LEAVE. She was completely out of line! Even my husband, who is the most mellow person on the planet was pissed about her attitude towards me. SHAME ON PNC BANK ARTS CENTER!) 

But, back to the show, hosted by radio DJ favorite, Cousin Brucie, who always does a great job as emcee to these shows each year. The Cousin Brucie theme song was done by The Four Seasons and was played during Cousin Brucie’s time onstage.

First up was Gary Lewis and the Playboys! Gary Lewis is the son of comedian Jerry Lewis, who is now 90-years-old. The band was excellent. They did their hits, plus hits from other artists of the 1960s. Interesting side note “This Diamond Ring” was co-written by the late Irwin Levine who was a NJ resident.

Gary Lewis is 70-years-old and looked incredible. He was very high-energy, as was the rest of the band.

Lewis opened up with Freddie “Boom Boom” Cannon’s “Palisades Park” and did such a great job, he seemed to own it.

It was one great hit after another and my absolute favorite song was “Green Grass.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtMbgt2zzno

Next up was Herman’s Hermits starring Peter Noone. This was the third time I saw Peter Noone perform and the best of all! Noone was incredibly entertaining doing a comedy routine in-between songs, imitating Mick Jagger and Johnny Cash (which was incredible). He also joked a lot about New Jersey.  It’s wild that he knows our area so well, making jokes about Sussex County, the Newark Airport, Hackensack and so on. He had the audience in stitches.

My favorite songs of the set were “Mrs. Brown You’ve Got a Lovely Daughter” and “There’s a Kind of Hush.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79-dAhFu9vE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frTD7txjdds

Peter Noone still sounded like a teenager — and ran around the stadium like a teenager, shaking hands with fans. I shook his hand twice during the show and once afterwards when my husband and I met him after the show. We scored the “Blaze” album which Noone autographed for us.

It was an honor meeting an artist I listened to when I was a little girl — “Mrs. Brown You’ve Got a Lovely Daughter” on a 45-RPM record. In the early 1970s I was only 9-years-old and had a much younger cousin who was wise beyond her years. She said that song was “sad.” I never thought of it as being sad at the time, I just loved the melody. Then last night, listening as an older woman, it choked me up a bit — yes, it is a beautiful, sad song. ❤

For more information on Herman’s Hermits starring Peter Noone, visit: https://peternoone.com/

For more information on Gary Lewis visit: http://www.garylewisandtheplayboys.com/ 

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “On the Guest List: Adventures of a Music Journalist” available in paperback only on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Guest-List-Adventures-Music-Journalist/dp/162903908X

4 comments on “Herman’s Hermits/Gary Lewis and The Playboys Show 9-9-2016

  • such A phAntAzzztik reViEw*.✫♬*•.`*•.*¨*.¸¸.✶ *.✫.. i lOVvve youR revieWs– they Are aliiive❤️❤️❣❤️

    Sent from my iPhone !!!~(*v*)~>^:^

  • What do you think?

