Teens and Twenties in the ’80s!

Published September 19, 2016 by Maryanne

1980-punk-rocker1980 – 16-year-old punk rocker

1980 was a great time to be alive — and young! So much great music was exploding on the scene. In fact, so much that I’m still catching up on the more obscure stuff.

At 16 I was really into The Clash. I was lucky to see them at The Capitol Theatre, in Passaic, NJ. The earrings I’m wearing in this picture I scored at Trash & Vaudeville in NYC.

1981-18-the-clashAge 18, 1981

The end of 1981, I was still loving punk rock. Now I had my hair bleached blonde in honor of the blonde beauties of the day like Debbie Harry and Nancy Spungeon.

1982-cosmo19 in 1982

In 1982 I was trying for the new romantic look, though I never quite nailed it.

19851985, me to the right … Hair is getting bigger in The Bahamas

pharoah-show-with-sibel

1986, me on the right

The above shot was taken at a nightclub in NYC. I was part of the stage show for 1980s glam rock legends Pharoah.

1987-with-tiny-tim

1987, at a NYC nightclub … I just had to introduce myself to the legendary Tiny Tim! 

1980s-modeling

1988 modeling

goth-years

1989 and so begins my gothic years

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the author of “Love Cats” — an erotic fiction love story that takes place in the 1980s. “Love Cats” is available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle editions:  https://www.amazon.com/Love-Cats-Maryanne-Christiano-Mistretta/dp/1681020513

6 comments on “Teens and Twenties in the ’80s!

    • Thanks so much Sibel! It was so awesome to share parts of the 1980s with you! I still have the photo of us at Great Adventure on the key chain! You never changed either — you’re beautiful inside and out and I’m honored to be your friend. Love to you too! xo

  • Hi, M C-M,

    I was a 1970s baby who SHOULD’VE been a teen during the 1980s, but who wasn’t. I loved the idea of Goth style, but I loved some of the bright colors, and the Mall Bangs of the 1980s, too, and, while my mother was very practical but creative, my aunt was more glamorous, so I sort of got the best of both worlds…and the worst, but, oh, well.

    I like your 1980s pictures, because you look very stylish (along the lines of Alyssa Milano and Samantha Fox, and, to some degree, Elvira, too).

    I think that it’s cool that you are / have been so multi-talented, as I love writing, too. I’m not much for the nightclub scene, as I don’t really have that look, but I love to sing, and I was in a local musical, albeit looking delightfully disheveled, as the musical was “Les Mis”. 🙂

    I am curious to know if you remember which doll is behind you in the 1989 photo. I could SWEAR that that’s Hollie Hobby, but I’m not sure.

    Well, anyway, coolest photos ever, and the best of luck, with regards to your future ventures! 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Kitty

    • Oh my goodness, Kitty, what a very nice email! Thanks so much for your kind words! ❤

      Please don't be hard on yourself and worry about having "the look" or the right age. Just get out there and ENJOY life! I'm sure you're quite the looker 😉

      I'm not sure what the doll is; it was my sisters. We shared a room together during our teenage years.

      Cheers and blessings! xo

  • What do you think?

