Interview w/Jennifer Zola Goehrig: Health & Beauty Over 40 Series

Published December 5, 2016 by Maryanne

jennifer

Jennifer Zola Goehrig

Jennifer Zola Goehrig, 49, is a graphic designer and cat lover living in New Jersey. She’s very close to her family and loves travel.

Laughter is her secret to being beautiful over 40. “I’m drawn to somebody with a great sense of humor,” she said. “Chris [her long-term partner] constantly makes me laugh. Even my family and close friends are always having a good time. It makes you feel good.”

Jennifer’s beauty routine is simple. She said she makes sure her face is clean before going to bed and she tries to drink a lot of water. “My mom is eighty-one,” she said. “And she doesn’t look eighty-one. I’ve been blessed with her genes.”

She also takes care of her skin with sunscreen. “Ever since I’ve been in my twenties, I’ve always had something on my face,” she said.

When it comes to eating nutritiously, it’s both a “yes” and “no” for Jen. She said, “I try not to deprive myself of anything. I try to stay away from fast food. I’m very conscious of eating my vegetables. I like my greens. I try to watch my portion sizes. If I’m having ice cream, I’ll have half a cup.”

Jennifer makes sure she walks at least 30 minutes a day. “I’m pretty good at that,” she said. “I do it no less than four times a week. And stairs.”

In the world of beauty, Jennifer is inspired by Paulina Porizkova, since the days of Cosmopolitan in the 1980s, when Jen was just in her 20s. “I thought she [Porizkova] was so cool because she married Ric Ocasek. I thought she was perfect; a really beautiful woman.  She always caught my eye in that sense.”

As a cat lover, Jennifer always had a cat in her life and definitely sees a connection between animals and beauty and is comforted by the purr of her cat Mikey.

Jen’s future plans include traveling to Liverpool with her boyfriend Chris. “I’m a big Beatles fan,” she said. “I’ve been to London, but never Liverpool.”

Health & Beauty Over 40 is a new blog series by Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta. Check back from time to time to see more interviews with inspiring women over 40! 

3 comments on “Interview w/Jennifer Zola Goehrig: Health & Beauty Over 40 Series

  • As a personal friend of Jen’s, I can attest to the fact that she is as beautiful in person as she is in this picture! She is a wonderful person, her beauty shines through!

  • What do you think?

