College

Published January 3, 2024 by Maryanne

With original MTV VJ Mark Goodman, 2018, William Paterson University

Today’s Bloganuary question is to tell about the colleges you went to.

My short answer is NONE!

For decades I was ashamed of this. But over the years learning about successful people who never went to college, I basked in the fact that I’m also successful without college. I’m not saying, “Don’t go to college.” I’m just saying, some people just aren’t school people and we shouldn’t force it.

Here are some of the things I’ve accomplished without a college degree: award-winning journalist (second place from the New Jersey Society of Professional Journalism); award-winning Toastmaster speaker (best evaluator, best table topic, and best speaker for a speech I wrote on David Bowie); 5 traditionally published books — NOT SELF-PUBLISHED — in Barnes & Noble stores; making a living as a journalist since 1995, with articles published all over the world in magazines, newspapers, and online; and ghost writing books for other people that have been traditionally published and in Barnes & Noble stores.

That said, the thought of going to college did occur to me. I was inspired by a proofreader friend/spiritual mentor back in the late 1980s. I applied to several colleges and actually got accepted at William Paterson University. I wanted to major in philosophy and religion.

A young woman discouraged me and said, “What would you do with that degree?”

Dumb question, and dumber me thinking she was right. She put the doubt in my head, but also the idea of a student loan bill wasn’t something I would look forward to. Plus, I was only 24 and still in my partying stage. I felt I’d be missing out if I was home studying.

So, I canned the idea.

Looking back, I ask myself if I could do it all over again, would I go to college? Probably not. I had so many opportunities to go back over the year, and it’s just not an experience I wanted.

Deep in my heart, I truly believe we get everything we want in life. When you want something bad enough, you find a way to make it happen. For me, that was writing. And I see myself writing until the day I die. It was my dream since I was a teenager and realized I’m not a team player, so punk rock musician was out.

True writers write any chance they get. At 18 I was writing for a fanzine, called Punk, Junk, and Past Times, held together by staples and sold in a punk rock clothing store called Two Tone in Passaic, New Jersey.

For years when I held regular “day jobs” (but at cool places like publishing and music companies) I wrote on the side, waiting for that big dream to come true. I wrote poetry, which I performed in coffee houses and art galleries. I even co-wrote a play that I performed in, off-off Broadway called “Kiss My Asp.” It was in the same theatre as the famous play “Real Men Don’t Wear Plaid.” We went on after they did.

I also had poetry published in a German magazine.

Finally at age 32, I got a break. I was hired as assistant to the publisher for Outlaw Biker Enterprises and made friends with the editor of the tattoo magazines. Within a few months I was writing and being published!

I’ll never forget the night I was hanging out on St. Mark’s Place, with my friend Diane, getting ready to go to one of the Green Door Parties, where the late Howie Pyro, from D-Generation and Danzig, used to DJ. Diane wanted to get cigarettes. She walked to a news stand, and there it was — one of the tattoo magazines that had my fiction story in it!

That was the first time I got butterflies in my stomach over my career. Anyone in New York City could read my story!!

To this day, when I’m typing an article and under the headline “by Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta” I can’t deny the thrill I get; after all these years.

And as for the photo above, that’s Mark Goodman, an original MTV VJ. I met him when a friend performed at William Paterson University a few years ago. The college I turned my back on, but in a way, it did bring magic into my life. College or not, I was determined to become a writer. And I did.

The fact that I became a writer without college angers some people. They feel I didn’t put in the time and don’t deserve it. Even my own mother once announced to a bunch of family members at a party that I wasn’t a “real” journalist because I didn’t go to college.

That was painful, but the statement was wrong. If you’re making a living doing something, of course it’s “real.” And it’s something to be proud of when you’re chosen to write for a publication, competing against those with a college degree, but you are the one to get the job.

If you feel college is for you then go for it. If not, don’t ever be ashamed for not going. It’s not for everyone. Those who didn’t go to college include: Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Katy Perry, Walt Disney, Coco Chanel, and Cameron Diaz — to name a few!

And whenever I get down on myself for not going to college, there’s THIS:

I loved this inspiring email my editor at Montclair Times, Mark Porter, sent to his staff years ago when I worked there. I felt it was too cool not to share:

Here’s a column from Poynter Institute that all of us in journalism will find interesting.

It’s the decades-long discussion on whether a college degree or MA in journalism has merit.

I’m of the opinion that it is not overly valuable. It’s more vital, in my perception, to major in another field — whether political science, history, teaching, biology or police science — and gain the experience by working for a college paper, freelancing for a professional publication, and proving yourself outside of the classroom.

A diploma in journalism certainly has value.

At a daily newspaper I worked at, the literally worst reporter on staff had a Masters Degree from the Columbia School of Journalism. She had no skills beyond mediocrity at every level.

In the same newsroom, one of the best investigative reporters was a high school dropout.

Yours, –Mark–

It certainly puts things into perspective, doesn’t it?

🏫

If you like this blog, feel free to support me at: https://ko-fi.com/maryannechristianomistretta

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta can be reached at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com.

“The Gypsy Smiled” is now available in Barnes & Noble stores! https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/book/1132781418

“So You Think You Know the Jersey Shore?” is available at: https://omni-pub.com/product/so-you-think-you-know-the-jersey-shore/

And while we are celebrating, here is a wonderful article about the book: https://www.mypaperonline.com/beautiful-ride-in-maryanne-christiano-mistrettas-front-row-seat-to-the-jersey-shore.html

“Be (Extra)Ordinary: 10 Ways to Become Your Own Hero” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback or Kindle version, visit: Be (Extra)Ordinary

“I Don’t Want to Be Like You” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback, Kindle or audio copy, go here: I Don’t Want To Be Like You

Her fiction book “Love Cats” second printing is now available, under the pen name Krystianna Mercury, from Pink Flamingo. You can purchase it here: https://eroticbooknetwork.com/product/love-cats/

Maryanne is also available for book editing and coaching. Rates are competitive.

And for positive messages, visit Be YOUnique, the Anti-Bullying You Tube Channelhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLq6J9MSvcjd-haQ30ycLWA/videos

Visit my business page, Pear Tree Enterprises, at: https://peartreeenterprises.wordpress.com/

Need a cat sitter in North/Central Jersey? Maryanne is a 5-star cat sitter: https://meowtel.com/cat-sitters/NJ/kenilworth/purrrrrfect-paws-cat-sitting

14 comments on “College

  • Fantastic story, Maryanne! Your experience actually reminds me of a colleague of mine who didn’t have a college degree — but built a solid reputation in the field of Philippine sports journalism over the years. Even though he had no bachelor’s degree to his name (Filipino culture puts an emphasis on finishing college), he eventually became the editor-in-chief of a local paper.

    That colleague has since retired from the broadsheet. Despite that, a Filipino entrepreneur offered him good money to serve as the EIC of a sports news website. (He’s still with the company I work for, albeit on a freelance basis.)

  • I really admire your accomplishments. And you’re right, college isn’t for everyone. You can still do things you love even if you didn’t go.

    I totally get the whole dumb question thing. I’ve let others discourage me, too. In the end, though, I think you did what was right for you, and that is commendable.

    I love the name Punk Junk, and Past Times. LOL That is so cool! Kiss My Asp is beyond awesome, too. 😀 lol

    Mark Goodman… Woooow, so cool! I keep saying that but it’s true!

    I’m always thinking, what is Maryann doing next? I love reading your articles and living through your adventures.

    I love what Mark said, and I believe it whole-heartedly. It really does put things in perspective.

    The first time I went to college, I majored in (get ready for this) Music Performance. Why? Because I wanted to major in music, but I didn’t want to be a teacher. I dropped out after the first semester because I was like, I can continue private lessons and perform for real without this degree.

    The second time I went it was because I’d wanted to be a nurse since I was 10 years old (that’s when I read my first book about Florence Nightingale), so I majored in science and became an RN.

    Either way, no regrets.

    • Oh wow, I didn’t know you were a performer! That’s incredible. And so many people play by ear too, without a musical education. An RN is amazing too, as I wrote on your blog yesterday (I’m not sure if you saw it yet).
      You have two great talents that most people only dream of! My cousin is a nurse and she works very hard — and crazy hours too.

      • Don’t get me started on the hours. LOL In the hospital, you usually work 12 hour shifts 3x/week. But when I was a charge nurse, I worked 16 hours a day 3x/week. It was fun, rewarding, sometimes terrifying, and hard. But I loved it. 🙂

        Here’s a nursey joke: A body washes up on shore and the medical examiner says, “I don’t know who she is, but I know what she did for a living. She was a nurse.” Someone in the media asks, “How do you know that?” The medical examiner says, “She has a full bladder and an empty stomach.” LOLOLOL 😀

        Your comment was so wonderful. I haven’t had a chance to respond yet, but I loved what you said. Thank you so much. xoxo

      • Ha! Same can be said about journalism! LOL!
        Interesting, one of the people I worked with at a newspaper was married to a doctor. She said with all the hours he put in, his hourly pay came to minimum wage! He made a great salary, but with all the hours, overtime, being on call, emergencies, etc. it came out to barely nothing.

  • OMG I love that you chose a Ramones song and your statement “I’m not a team player, so punk rock musician was out.” made me laugh out loud.
    Great post Maryanne, I really enjoyed hearing some of your story.

  • What do you think?