RIP Bob, A Cat Who Left His Paw Print On the Hearts of Millions

Published June 16, 2020 by Maryanne

9781250217387

I just heard the sad, sad news that Bob died Monday, June 15, at the age of 14 or 15. (And I can’t stop crying!)

A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen became an instant NY Times Best Seller back in 2012. I was busy writing my own books back then so I wasn’t yet aware of it.

However, after I had to put my beloved cat Bennie down, early 2019, I joined a cat book club to help heal my pain. (But of course, we never quite get over the loss of a pet. It’s impossible). The first book we read was Strays by Britt Collins. I enjoyed that book and when I read the reviews it was compared to A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen. I purchased it immediately and fell in love with! I read (and re-read) all three books in the series, watched many You Tube videos, and followed Bob on Facebook.

For those who don’t know Bob, he was a stray who was found by James Bowen, a recovering drug addict and musician who busked in the streets to make ends meet. The story of James and Bob became a book, then a movie! (I loved the movie, but of course I loved the book better!) Here is the link to the book: A Street Cat Named Bob

And, for a real taste of Bob’s personality, there are tons of videos on You Tube where you can see Bob sitting on Bowen’s shoulders while he sings and plays guitar; Bob giving Bowen a high-five with his paw for exchange of a treat; and Bob at Bowen’s side during their celebrity status on TV talk shows. It’s all so endearing–Bob had what you call PURR-sonality! He was not only a smart cat, but a very cute one too! Who could resist that pudgy face and piercing green eyes?

Millions of cat lovers fell in love with Bob; and millions are now mourning him. There is definitely a hole in the hearts of many who looked forward to Bowen’s updates on Bob. Everyone just loves a feel good story with a happy ending. And cat lovers get a kick out of the funny things they do.

Well, this is another terrible thing to put on the list of this awful year. My heart goes out to James Bowen, his fiance, and their other cats. And to all the millions of Bob fans. Cats are special creatures. They touch our souls so deeply, giving us so much love and support. You just have to pay attention to cats–give them a bit of love and watch the magic happen! The story of James and Bob is proof of that!

Godspeed Bob … a beautiful little soul who will live in our hearts fur-ever…

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is the owner of two cats, Nicholas Gray and Sammy “Whammy” Keane Clemens. Her fiction book “Love Cats” second printing is now available, under the pen name Krystianna Mercury, from Pink Flamingo. You can purchase it here: Love Cats

Contact Maryanne at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com 

One comment on “RIP Bob, A Cat Who Left His Paw Print On the Hearts of Millions

  • What do you think?