Precious

Published June 19, 2024 by Maryanne

Photo by Wadi Lissa on Unsplash

Last night I was covering a graduation ceremony. I honestly went kicking and screaming. As you know, normally I love my career in journalism. But it was dangerously hot outside, and the graduation was being held outdoors. And I had a heat headache. Yeah, normally healthy me was miserable and grouchy.

I took a bottle of water with me and told myself it would all be over before I knew it. After all time does fly when you’re having fun. This was my second year covering graduations and it really is exciting even if you don’t know anyone. The happiness. The motivational speeches. The proud parents, who can really get you all choked up.

After I got photos of many graduates and a keynote speaker, I found a shady area in the grass to take notes.

Next thing I know, two adorable little girls approached me. One stood directly in front of me and gave me a flower. I asked her what her name was and she was shy; she just wanted to be near me. Then her mom came running up to me. She said, “She thinks your my mom! She looks just like you; a free spirit.”

I laughed and asked to see a photo of the woman’s mom. (Interesting side note, I was just having a conversation about doppelgangers at a health food store a few days ago.)

Sure enough, the woman did look like me — thin, big eyes, straight hair with a bit of a wave, younger than her years, and a free spirit vibe.

THEN, another little girl approached me. An absolutely adorable little Black girl. She gave me the biggest hug. I hugged her back. Her mom was smiling at me. I said, “Your daughter has a five-star personality — she’s going places in life!” She went to play with the other little girls (and her brother), but she came back and hugged me again. Then she took a photo of me of me with her mom’s phone! She couldn’t have been more than 5-years-old and she knew how to use the phone to take a picture.

I said, “I’m going to take your picture too. Let’s take a selfie!” She was so happy and laughing. (Note, I’m not sharing the photo out of privacy, but she looked similar to the little girl in the photo above that I’m using to represent her. I also learned her name, but let’s just call her “K”). Again, she went off to play with the other kids.

The rest of the evening, all the little girls and boys kept returning to me, giving me flowers, as I’m taking notes and trying to work. But what can I say, they were irresistible! I stopped writing whenever they came by. (Don’t get me wrong, I scored a great graduation story nevertheless!)

Once the speakers were finished and they began calling the names of the graduates, this was my cue to exit, to get to my car, turn on the air conditioner, choose the photos I’d be using, and get the hell out before a traffic jam. (And while it was still early enough to get home and get a mini workout in — in the air conditioner!!!!!!)

As I was walking across the field, I found K to say “good-bye.”

She gave me another big hug and said, “I want to come to your house!”

I laughed so hard. It was just the most precious, adorable thing! You never know, maybe someday K will be in my house, playing with my cats. She’s certainly welcome.

It’s truly a magical night when you’re in a high school field, with thousands of people, and you get to meet the most precious little girl.

K truly touched my heart. I won’t forget her.

🌼

If you like this blog, feel free to support me at: https://ko-fi.com/maryannechristianomistretta

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta is an award-winning journalist, author, and speaker. She can be reached at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com.

“The Gypsy Smiled” is now available in Barnes & Noble stores! https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/book/1132781418

“Be (Extra)Ordinary: 10 Ways to Become Your Own Hero” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback or Kindle version, visit: https://www.amazon.com/Be-Extra-Ordinary-Ways-Become/dp/1733546227

“I Don’t Want to Be Like You” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback, Kindle or audio copy, go here: I Don’t Want To Be Like You

Maryanne is also available for book editing and coaching. Rates are competitive.

Visit her business page, Pear Tree Enterprises, at: https://peartreeenterprises.wordpress.com/

Need a cat sitter in North/Central Jersey? Maryanne is a 5-star cat sitter: https://meowtel.com/cat-sitters/NJ/kenilworth/purrrrrfect-paws-cat-sitting

And for positive messages, visit Be YOUnique, the Anti-Bullying You Tube Channelhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLq6J9MSvcjd-haQ30ycLWA/videos

What do you think?