Should a Child Have a Pet Rabbit?

Published August 4, 2023 by Maryanne

Photo by Tamas Tuzes-Katai (Unsplash)

The other night at the concert, my husband Dennis and I spotted a rabbit, on a leash. We smiled at each other.

But those smiles didn’t last long. What we saw was disturbing.

Three little girls. I’m guessing ages 4, 5, 6, at most, seemed to be “caring” for the rabbit. I watched one little girl pull the leash hard, dragging the rabbit in her direction, while it was hopping away from her. Then another little girl grabbed the rabbit and held it tightly in her arms so the others couldn’t pet it. All three took turns with the rabbit and were all a bit hard-handed, not at all gentle. They also took the rabbit to a section where seniors were dancing, oblivious to the fact that a rabbit was near their feet. A disaster waiting to happen — for both seniors and the rabbit.

(Whoever said little girls were made of “sugar and spice and everything nice” was wrong).

The rabbit was obviously stressed and frightened and it ran into a bush. The little girls were trying to get him out and he wouldn’t budge. Finally they got their mom (or baby sitter?) to get the rabbit out of the bush. (And even she had a hard time).

At that point, I focused on the show and stopped looking. I couldn’t take anymore. I said a silent prayer for the rabbit, and even a wish that this family would give up the rabbit to a better home. Dennis was just as upset as I was.

I’m no expert in children or rabbits or parenting, but the following questions come to mind…

  1. Should a rabbit be at a concert?
  2. Should a little girl have a rabbit as a pet?
  3. Why not a puppy instead? Dogs are great with kids.

While many would disagree with me (yes, they would, thanks to the internet I know firsthand that thousands of people HATE animals, yes they do) I stand by the fact that animals are more than animals. They are little souls, making their way into this world that they didn’t ask to be born in. When I see an animal being mistreated it breaks a bit of my heart.

I’m sure some children are very gentle with little animals, and that’s beautiful to see, but these little girls were just brats. A parent should assess the personality of a child before presenting them with a small pet. Is my child kind or rough? Will my child take care of the pet? Will my child accept that a pet is a living creature and not a toy? You gotta know your kids, right?

Sadly, this blog won’t help save the world. Parents will continue to be defensive about their “little darlings.” And animals will continue to be abused. I hate using the word “stupid” but some people are “stupid.”

Not too long ago I was in a pet store getting food for my cats, and I saw a woman looking at a small goldfish bowl. She wanted to purchase it for a larger goldfish (that was almost koi size). None of my business, but when it comes to animals I will speak up. I told her that bowl was too small.

“It’s for my grandson,” she said.

“No, that bowl is too small for that large goldfish,” I repeated.

She listened to me and she didn’t get the bowl or the goldfish.

Good.

If I saw that woman and her three little girls in the pet store, buying a rabbit, I would have steered her in another direction for sure.

I manifest/pray, so hard, that someday we will live in a world where people are kinder to all animals.

🐰

If you liked this blog, feel free to buy me a kombucha: https://ko-fi.com/maryannechristianomistretta

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta can be reached at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com.

Pre-sales for Maryanne’s 6th book, “So You Think You Know the Jersey Shore?” are now available: https://omni-pub.com/product/so-you-think-you-know-the-jersey-shore/

And while we are celebrating, here is a wonderful article about the book: https://www.mypaperonline.com/beautiful-ride-in-maryanne-christiano-mistrettas-front-row-seat-to-the-jersey-shore.html

“Be (Extra)Ordinary: 10 Ways to Become Your Own Hero” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback or Kindle version, visit:Be (Extra)Ordinary

“I Don’t Want to Be Like You” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback, Kindle or audio copy, go here: I Don’t Want To Be Like You

Her fiction book “Love Cats” second printing is now available, under the pen name Krystianna Mercury, from Pink Flamingo. You can purchase it here: https://eroticbooknetwork.com/product/love-cats/

Maryanne is also available for book editing and coaching. Rates are competitive.

And for positive messages, visit Be YOUnique, the Anti-Bullying You Tube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLq6J9MSvcjd-haQ30ycLWA/videos

Visit my business page, Pear Tree Enterprises, at: https://peartreeenterprises.wordpress.com/

30 comments on “Should a Child Have a Pet Rabbit?

  • Having a pet is not a fashion or something to boast about. It is a huge responsibility that we are teaching our children. Let it be a lizard, puppy ir a horse you become responsible for another living soul.

    • Beautiful comment, thank you!
      It’s true, the little girls were parading with the rabbit as if to say, “Look at me.” It’s a shame. They truly needed to learn a lesson. Hopefully someday they will.

  • All kinds of potential terrible was about to occur because of the decision to bring that rabbit along. I think it might have had an element of vanity involved too (ooh, look at my kids with their cute rabbit on a leash).

    I’m not sure that the parenting wasn’t negligent as well.

  • I’m so sorry to read that Maryanne. I agree with your opinions on this . This is just not right , where some people are heartless and mistreat and abuse animals . C’mon ,they are lives too. Whenever I had seen animal cruelty , be it beating or irresponsibility pet parenting , there is a silent prayer .
    A pet is an addition to the family . Lets spread animal rights awareness
    You have very well expressed this issue via your post ! have a nice day Maryanne ✨

  • OK … I have an EXBF who I don’t see anymore but he still calls me cuz he still wants me back. He’s been calling me lately because he’s got a new chocolate lab puppy & he wants me to come see the new dog … I really don’t want to, I don’t want to be this dog’s new “mommy”. Anyway, he called yesterday & said he took the dog to The Outdoor Store, which sells all kinds of stuff for people who hunt, fish, hike, camp, etc … he took the puppy into the store, on a leash, but who take a puppy into a store, right? & he was walking around the store & suddenly the dog had to GO … the dog laid a giant pile of poop in the middle of an aisle (this store is carpeted) so he just hightailed it out of there … didn’t clean it up, didn’t tell anyone, didn’t do anything … I couldn’t believe it. I mean … he’s had the puppy for three weeks now, it should be housetrained anyway but really … who takes a puppy INTO A STORE?

    What an idiot. He’s an ex for a reason. A bunch of reasons.

  • You are right. The kids may not be intentionally mean, but they are too young to understand how to properly handle a pet, which is why parents need to teach them how, and supervise them. It’s not just rabbits but dogs too. I remember seeing a funny video of a three-year-old poking at a rottweiler wearing bunny ears, smooching him and hugging him hard, arms around him (no-no), laughing, and it was obvious that the rottweiler didn’t like it, as he was licking his mouth and then he started to show his teeth and growling. The mom was filming and laughing the whole time. It was a funny video, I admit, unhappy rott-rabbits are funny, but that was an accident waiting to happen. As a side note, in general dogs don’t like the kind of hugs in which you put your arms around them, like the boy was doing. They feel trapped and dominated. Hugs in which you lean or press yourself against them are fine though.

    • I don’t think any videos of animals being teased or improperly handled are “funny.”
      That’s the problem with the world today. We live in a sick society of “my child can do no wrong” and “my child is so adorable” and animals are at the expense.
      This had happened with The Dodo, a major fail, sharing a video on Facebook (which permits all kinds of animal abuse) and not on YouTube because they would probably be banned. A cat was being teased by a child, while the Instagram model superstar mom was filming and saying, “Oh, poor me, I love my cat but it’s such a grouchy cat with attitude.”
      ANIMALS DO NOT HAVE ATTITUDE. They have two emotions — love and fear, and that is that.
      MAJOR FAIL DODO, and yet the video continues on Facebook because it’s “funny.” WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      I encourage people to call these parents out on their bullshit! And while kids are not “intentionally mean” they are intentional show-offs, encouraged by egomaniac parents.

  • I do have kids amd when I was a kid we had many animals. Rabbits, a dog, mice, hamsters…
    I would answer all the 3 questions with a firm NO.

    At that age, the parents might take care of a dog but definitely not kids and especially not those 3 from your horror story.

    • Thanks Christine.
      I also had all types of animals as a kid, dogs, cats, turtles, hamsters, and even a guinea pig. The only time I was inappropriate with a dog was at age 5, being a little rough on our beautiful German Shepherd. But my mother (RIP) taught me to be more gentle immediately and from that moment on, I had a tender hand towards animals.
      Best lesson in life my mom taught me was kindness to animals.
      This was in the 1960s (I was 5 in 1969) and even back then my mother knew you DON’T declaw a cat. It’s 2023 and idiots are still declawing cats, though it is now illegal in many states (I think NJ too!)
      Young mothers need to be more firm with their children and create boundaries with animals. Their duty is to be a mom, not a “friend” to the kids. Your kids may hate you for scolding them, but in the end they will love you for the lessons. #truth
      My mom always said, “I’m your mother, not your playmate.”
      Other moms should take note.

  • I agree. Some animals are not meant to be pets. And small children should never be allowed to “care” for them. Bit it’s too easy to give the little ones what they want instead of what is appropriate.

  • What do you think?