Monday Happies

Published November 20, 2023 by Maryanne

Happy Monday!

The week begins with great vibes as yesterday I had a free day so my husband and I were able to spend time with family who live up in the mountains. It was a gorgeous day in New Jersey and the one hour drive was relaxing, viewing the vast lake area and mountainous beauty.

For the next week, in addition to journalism, I’m cat sitting a Bengal cat! It was the first time I ever saw one, but I knew about them because a friend from the 1980s has some and I saw photos on Facebook. I met this little girl cat Saturday night during the Meet & Greet. She’s a playful little thing and is also very affectionate. My time with her last night was so well spent. Whenever I’d text photos of her to her owner, she gave a big “Meow” because she wanted my undivided attention. I love her to pieces and she will certainly be one of the highlights of this upcoming week. I WISH I could post pictures of her, but I won’t out of respect for the owner. But do note, since I’ve been cat sitting this past year, I keep all the photos of the cats. Whether my clients are repeat clients or a one-shot deal, I cherish all of them and remember them fondly. I just absolutely love cats and each one is loved like they are my own.

So, now, the three most exotic cats I’ve sat for are: a Bengal, a Siberian, and a Sphynx.

I hope to someday meet an Oriental Shorthair cat. They are cute AF and seem really nice.

I have two stories on the agenda thus far. This morning I’m interviewing the president of the Nutley Historical Society. And Wednesday covering a luncheon for The Chamber of Commerce, the Rotary Club, the Lion’s Club, and UNICO; with a guest speaker.

Here’s a story I wrote for Veteran’s Day last week: https://unionnewsdaily.com/news/roselle-park/roselle-park-remembers-veterans-with-special-service

And a more controversial one about a man who is fighting the town in order to keep shades on his bagel shop: https://essexnewsdaily.com/headlne-news/bagel-store-owner-vows-to-fight-on-despite-loss

I’m psyched about Thanksgiving. Dennis and I did some shopping Saturday night. I’m making vegan cranberry sauce from scratch. (I say “vegan” because sometimes when people make it from scratch they use honey–I won’t.) We also got the good old famous Tofurkey, sweet potatoes, and apples for baking. I am hooked on vanilla bean powder and have been putting it on everything lately, including popcorn. So that will be the special ingredient for the day–for the sweet potatoes and the apples. And knowing my husband, he’ll make another stop or two to pick up more food. I usually don’t eat sugar or gluten, but I make exceptions for holidays and special occasions, as long as it’s vegan. Some time ago we stopped going to vegan restaurants in order to stay healthier. And it works — I feel fantastic! Lots of energy. Clear skin. Life is good!

😼

If you liked this blog, feel free to buy me a kombucha! https://ko-fi.com/maryannechristianomistretta

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta can be reached at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com.

“The Gypsy Smiled” is now available in Barnes & Noble stores! https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/book/1132781418

“So You Think You Know the Jersey Shore?” is available at: https://omni-pub.com/product/so-you-think-you-know-the-jersey-shore/

And while we are celebrating, here is a wonderful article about the book: https://www.mypaperonline.com/beautiful-ride-in-maryanne-christiano-mistrettas-front-row-seat-to-the-jersey-shore.html

“Be (Extra)Ordinary: 10 Ways to Become Your Own Hero” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback or Kindle version, visit: Be (Extra)Ordinary

“I Don’t Want to Be Like You” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback, Kindle or audio copy, go here: I Don’t Want To Be Like You

Her fiction book “Love Cats” second printing is now available, under the pen name Krystianna Mercury, from Pink Flamingo. You can purchase it here: https://eroticbooknetwork.com/product/love-cats/

Maryanne is also available for book editing and coaching. Rates are competitive.

And for positive messages, visit Be YOUnique, the Anti-Bullying You Tube Channelhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLq6J9MSvcjd-haQ30ycLWA/videos

Visit my business page, Pear Tree Enterprises, at: https://peartreeenterprises.wordpress.com/

I’m also a five-star cat sitter. Need a cat sitter in North/Central Jersey? I’m available: https://meowtel.com/cat-sitters/NJ/kenilworth/purrrrrfect-paws-cat-sitting

12 comments on “Monday Happies

  • Firstly, I love your boots! Secondly, Happy Monday! lol And, thirdly, have fun cat sitting! I’ve read Bengals are very energetic. But I have never met one.

    The Mister and I love cats, and we are currently owned by two of them. 😀

    • Thanks so much!
      Yes, Bengals are very energetic and smart as a whip.
      What I love about this kitten is she’s fearless, yet gentle. She won’t rough house with me. She’ll play and be active, but not overbearing.
      Interesting when I first came in the door, she was more interested in play than eating, which is very unusual. She ate more towards the end, and that’s when she became more affectionate too.
      Aw, thanks for being Cat Mommy and Cat Daddy — that’s the best, isn’t it? They are babies and they need us! xo

      • Yes, that is unusual. Although, we play with our cats before we feed them because I’ve heard that that gives the cat a kind of satisfaction as if they’d killed their prey and now could eat. lol I don’t know if it’s true, though. But what I do know is that cats like routine, so we just do that.

        I hope to meet a Bengel someday. She sounds amazing!

        We think it’s the best, for sure. We adopted them both as adults, so Josie-Pye, the tortie, is a bit timid. She’s lived with us for almost 3 years and is just only now sleeping with us on our bed. Before, she would jump up and say hi, but if you moved at all, she’d hit the floor running. Our babyboy, Cesare, is an orange tabby and he is the funniest, most lovable little guy I’ve ever known. He’s my Velcro cat. haha

        I’d love to hear more about your cat experiences, if you care to share them. 😀 xoxo Have a terrific day!

      • The orange tabbies are the best! We had Bennie who was feral. We took him in, but sadly he only lived five months with us. He was just 3 and had FIV and a brain tumor. But he was the sweetest and smelled so good! All he wanted was cuddles.
        Currently we have Nicholas (who magically came to us after my 19-year-old Derick had to be put down). He was our only cat for two years. Then I adopted Sammy from a shelter. And then the kitten, Happy, who was abandoned by his mother and father during the pandemic, so we trapped him and took him in.
        They’re all good cats. Yours sound awesome too! xo

      • Awwww I’m so sorry about Bennie. I’m glad even if it was only 5 months, he had all the cuddles he wanted. I’m sorry about the loss of Derrick, too. It sure hurts when they’re gone. I bet Nicholas is living his best life, though. 😀 And Sammy, too. And, of course, the kitten. Soooo sweet. I’m glad you have a heart for cats. We do, too. xo

      • Thanks for your kind words. We lost Billy Cat too. (I had him and Derick since the 1990s. Both lived to be 19). It’s the worst seeing them sick and having to let go. The absolute worst.
        But, yes the other three are living their best lives. They are the bosses of the house. Ha-ha!
        Thanks to you and your husband for being cat people too. They truly are the best! (I just got back from the Bengal and I’m spoiling her silly! She’s so affectionate. She was making biscuits on my leg and putting her little face next to mine!)

      • I couldn’t agree more. That is so hard, for real. I had a cat named Q-Tip (he was all white with a gray spot on his head lol) from the age of 4 until I was 23. He was my best bud growing up. I still smart when I think about him and it’s been a real long time. Once when I was little, I asked my dad (who is the one who named him) what Q-Tip’s middle name was. He said, “Swab.” LOLOL It was hilarious when we’d take him to the vet and the tech would yell out for Q-Tip Swab Cosner. LOL

        Cats are always the boss. hahaha I wouldn’t want it any other way. Our cats have us trained pretty well. lol

        What a lucky Bengel. I think Bengels are sooo pretty. She sounds like an adorable little girl. 😀

  • I was hoping to get a sphynx cat, but now you’ve got me thinking again. My father owned a gorgeous silky long haired cat that he had no idea of the breed, but looked a lot like the siberian you mentioned. It was nice, but a rather temperamental cat, enjoying fighting, sometimes without warning. The bengal cat is beautiful, but might be a little too energetic for me. That said, I’m interested in an exotic breed, but still considering. Thanks for sharing, Maryanne.

    • Yeah, believe it or not, I saw a Sphynx in a shelter!! Maybe they are too hard to take care of because they get so attached to their owners and sadly people give them up. Hell, our tabbies don’t like when we go away. One of them sees the luggage and gives us “attitude.” We’ll leave and he’ll sit with his back towards us. (He did this twice, so I’m not making it up).
      Over the years cats have become so domesticated, they just love their owners and don’t like to be apart from them. If you get a real chill cat (like the famous Street Cat Bob) where you can take anywhere with you, that would be the best.
      Good luck in your search for an exotic breed. Let me know what you get! I know you blog about music all the time, but you can sneak in a cat update, ha-ha! 🙂

  • What do you think?