More Viktoria Seiz and Other Vegan Raves

Published April 17, 2024 by Maryanne

Viktoria Seiz raw vegan desserts (Photo by Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta)

Yesterday afternoon my husband and I went back to Viktoria Seiz for some raw vegan desserts.

Honestly, I’m not doing promotions for them, I just love their desserts and can’t stop raving about them. I’m now on a once a week schedule where I’m either dining there or picking up treats to bring home.

In other healthy news, let’s talk about food waste. You can read all about it on the Imperfect Foods website: www.imperfectfoods.com

During the pandemic when it was hard to shop for food, I signed up for Imperfect Foods. Fresh groceries come to your door every week. I decided to do this again. I realized when shopping at chains like ShopRite and Whole Foods, they are not as supportive of local farmers as they should be.

And, yes, here in the Garden State, we have plenty of farmer’s markets, but they are often so crowded you can’t shop peacefully. (Though I do my share of supporting them by writing about them in the local newspapers). No judgement. We all do what works for us.

Speaking of what works for us, I’m loving the home food delivery service because yes it is a little bit cheaper, including your tip to the driver. BUT, also, you can have your list right by you at the computer, along with cookbooks. You can directly order everything you need. And if Imperfect Foods/Misfit Foods doesn’t have it, there’s Vitacost and other companies that support small businesses.

Another issue I’ve been having with going to supermarkets as a vegan — nuts. Too many nuts are processed on the same machines as milk products, meaning cross-contamination and not vegan.

I want to support total vegan nut companies.

Then there’s time. I was flabbergasted two weeks ago when I went food shopping and realized I was in there an hour!! I’d also make plans around my food shopping schedule because, hey, I live as healthy as possible and I don’t want to resort to take-out or going to a restaurant just because I didn’t have enough to eat in house. (Mind you, my husband also shops and cooks meals. He does the cooked vegan and I do the raw vegan, for the most part). It just gets crazy with both of us running to stores all the time. He doesn’t mind it as much as I do. He has more patience. But STILL!

When shopping online at Imperfect Foods (and again, I’m not doing promo for this company, I just love it!) there’s a “vegan” section. They also have clean vegan burgers that are absolutely the best and I haven’t seen in any stores. It’s called The Actual Burger. And you can get Chia Smash for $3 cheaper than Whole Foods or Shop Rite.

And I will always support indie health food stores as well as farmer’s markets from time to time. I’m just talking about the regular weekly grocery store run, which is so much easier via Imperfect Foods.

I am grateful!

🍍

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta can be reached at: maryannechristiano@gmail.com.

She is the author of the following books:

“Be (Extra)Ordinary: 10 Ways to Become Your Own Hero” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback or Kindle version, visit:Be (Extra)Ordinary

“I Don’t Want to Be Like You” is available on Amazon. To get your paperback, Kindle or audio copy, go here: I Don’t Want To Be Like You

Her fiction book “Love Cats” second printing is now available, under the pen name Krystianna Mercury, from Pink Flamingo. You can purchase it here: https://eroticbooknetwork.com/product/love-cats/

Maryanne is also available for book editing and coaching. Rates are competitive.

And for positive messages, visit Be YOUnique, the Anti-Bullying You Tube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLq6J9MSvcjd-haQ30ycLWA/videos

2 comments on “More Viktoria Seiz and Other Vegan Raves

  • I love that. We have lots of local markets here and the best (and scariest) part is all the wild mushrooms. Otherwise all the big grocery chains are German or French which is crazy since Romania has so much land!!! I support this message fully and btw, I’m eating those desserts in my mind. 😛

    • Thank you so much!

      The wild mushrooms are awesome. Imperfect Foods has the Lion’s Mane, which I love so much.

      Enjoy the desserts! Picture a creamy mousse, as they are sweetened with dates and fruit. They just melt in your mouth!

      I can make great raw desserts but they are nowhere near this pretty! 🙂

  • What do you think?